I’m back!

I certainly cannot give up my reign as the best Mintz blogger!  While Ben may preach about Widespread Panic and running, I can give you tid bits about life in the mountains and working in the performing arts.  Hard to believe when last I updated this thing, I was living in New Orleans, below sea level, and studying Arts Admin.  Now I live in the mountains (8100 feet above sea level) and have an almost real job (benefits please) in one of the best venues in the USA. 

I came here in January of 2011 to do an internship that turned into a job.  I work at the Vilar Performing Arts Center in Beaver Creek.  We are located right under the ice skating rink and 3 escalators away from the base of the mountain.  The theater is small, holding about 530 people seated.  We get huge fabulous names though, despite being so small.  The tickets will set you back a pretty penny, but it’s so worth it to see a great artist in such an intimate space.  If you do the math, it makes sense.  You can go to the Pepsi Center with thousands of other people and pay $50 to see a band or pay $150 and see them in a small venue.  It’s a whole other experience!  Since I’ve been here we’ve had 6 Broadway touring shows, Sheryl Crow, Randy Travis, Pilobolus, magicians, jam bands, cirque shows, and much more including Puppet Pet Comedy.  This summer we even have a Beatle!  Ringo Starr will be here July 10.  Doesn’t get much better than that ) I’ve given up on thinking Britney Spears or anything like her will ever darken the door). 

You can check out VilarPAC.org to see what’s going on here. 

I work in the box office and as the assistant to the theater director.  It’s lots of time on the computer, marketing projects, rental invoices, and mainly managing our ticketing system.  Everyday’s a little different which is wonderful.  We’re also part of a bigger non-profit, the Vail Valley Foundation, which does so many tings including ski races, concerts, education, and awesome events like the Teva games.  Being a VVF employee has great perks as now I’ve gotten toe experience so much more than just the Vilar by working for them.  I still know close to nothing about ski racing, but it’s fun to watch!  We’ll even be hosting the 2015 world championship races.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

